The NFL admitted that the officials working the Redskins-Panthers game make a mistake in awarding DeAngelo Williams a touchdown on a 30-yard run in the first quarter.
In a statement, the league said that there was an inadvertent whistle on the play and that the Panthers should have had the choice of replaying the down or taking the ball at the Washington 17 yard line. One official thought that Williams had stepped out of bounds and blew his whistle and signaled for the clock to stop. Although replays revealed that Williams never stepped out the score should not have counted.
“The Panthers were incorrectly awarded a touchdown following an inadvertent whistle,” the league said in its statement.
Redskins linebacker Perry Riley appeared to be in position to knock Williams out of bounds around the 15 yard line but he said after the game that he pulled up after hearing the whistle because he was concerned that he would get penalized for a late hit.
After the game, the referee told a pool reporter that the whistle did not blow until Williams was in the end zone so they decided to allow the play to stand.